Hi, my name is ________. And I’m a Second Class Citizen.

Yup, that’s what my name tag reads. Why you ask?

When trying to go out with friends and meet new guys, I’m pressured into going to a bar specifically for Gays, because my straight compatriots can’t stand the sight of me showing affection to another man. I am a Second Class Citizen.

When I meet that amazing guy who I fall in love with, I can’t marry him in 44 of my 50 States because I might ‘ruin the sanctity of marriage.’ Meanwhile my straight counterparts can get married for money, citizenship, out of tradition, on a drunken night, or be forced into a marriage. I am clearly a Second Class Citizen.

If I marry the love of my life and now want to establish a family, I can’t adopt children in 40 of my 50 States. Even in the ones I can, I’m given only the option of choosing a special needs child. I am a Second Class Citizen.

When voting for our next President, Senate, or House Representative, I’m forced into voting Democrat, for the other party views me as an abomination to his or her own soil. I am a Second Class Citizen.

When I turn on the television, I either see what straight folks have outlined to be their perfect flamboyant Gay character or see a fellow Gay man get booed on live TV in front of our future leaders and they say NOTHING to defend him. I AM a Second Class Citizen.

Hi, my name is Equality.

And I’m a Second Class Citizen.

 

 

About thepersiancloset

Hey there! I'm a gay Iranian-American raised in the US, studying Dentistry and hoping to open up my own practice some day. Being brought up in a Persian household proved (and proves!) to be difficult when my very liberal gay self clashes with the more conservative members of the household. Follow me on a week to week journey of growing up Gay in the Persian closet!
This entry was posted in Discrimination and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hi, my name is ________. And I’m a Second Class Citizen.

  1. Lori DiNardi says:

    I’m sorry you have been treated in such a way that you feel second rate. I’m not gay, but I was treated the same way when I couldn’t have kids. People were aghast when I said I didn’t want to adopt. I was treated horribly by my own family, and pretty much estranged for quite a while (not anymore). I was very angry, because it wasn’t my fault that I couldn’t have children. Apparently, it WAS my fault because I couldn’t afford10’s of thousands to adopt. Or, I was selfish for not taking in an abused child from the foster system. I said and wrote a lot of angry things at the time. As I sought to find myself amongst a world of parents who saw those who weren’t parents as “selfish,” I slowly but surely learned to love myself despite the world’s opinions. Now that I’m okay with myself, I’m okay with what others think of me. It’s their problem, not mine. Please, try to understand that not every Republican views you as an abomination. It’s really a sweeping statement, to make an entire group guilty instead of seeing them as individuals, which you obviously don’t like done to you either. Many people have been “ousted” for some reason or another in their lives. It’s all about loving ourselves.You are the son in whom God is well-pleased. I feel for you, because I’ve felt it too. May you find peace.

    • Hi there!

      Thank you for visiting =)

      Well I love myself, very much actually. And what you’re talking about is the opinions of other people, I’m referring (mostly) to the LAW that’s supposed to be fair and equal, there’s a big difference.

      But you’re right, there are a couple Republicans here and there who’ve stood up for Gay rights, but they certainly are not popular amongst their own party members, just like conservative Democrats are popular amongst their party either.

  2. Lori DiNardi says:

    Sorry if I misunderstood. I thought you were commenting on both peoples opinions and the law. Regarding the political parties, as far as I’m concerned, many (not all) are not out for the good of the people on either side. Only for the advancements of themselves. It’s why I decide who to vote for as individuals and not a political party. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

