F.O.R.D.

FORD….Fix Or Repair Daily…

And no I’m not talking about the motor company.

Although in the 90’s that acronym was used for the car manufacturer, now I believe it implies more to our lives.

I admit it. I’m always attracted to guys who are broken. They always have some sort of flaw. Not cosmetically of course. Rather and perhaps more seriously, guys who are emotionally broken. Or as I like to call them – FORD guys.

Maybe it’s the nurturer in me who seeks to find a mate who constantly needs my attention and help. Or maybe I’m threatened by guys who have their shit together better than I. Either way, it’s a destructive attraction and it needs to stop.

By dating guys who are not emotionally steady or available, I’m setting myself up for failure. They will never amount to my expectations no matter how much I try to fix their problems. Usually guys who are emotionally closed off cannot commit and need serious therapy to get over whatever issue is clouding their emotions. And by repeatedly being disappointed by the person you care about, it takes a huge toll on your relationship. After a while you feel helpless, lost in a sea of problems with him on a raft floating further and further away from you.

What’s funny is that these FORD gentleman are so cunning at always being the victim, always having an excuse, that they make it seem like it’s you who’s being unreasonable. You’re the bad guy intruding on their comfort zone and making their lives miserable. The more you try to help the more of a scapegoat you become.  

So take it from me. Don’t ever date potential. Don’t ever date someone who seems like he’s calling out to your inner nurturer. FORD guys are more trouble than they are worth and at the end of the day they will leave YOU broken, helpless, and single.  

About thepersiancloset

Hey there! I'm a gay Iranian-American raised in the US, studying Dentistry and hoping to open up my own practice some day. Being brought up in a Persian household proved (and proves!) to be difficult when my very liberal gay self clashes with the more conservative members of the household. Follow me on a week to week journey of growing up Gay in the Persian closet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment