Maybe She’s Born With it

No, I’m not talking about Maybelline makeup.

I’m talking signs, Zodiac signs. All determined by when you’re born.

I will say that I don’t believe in daily horoscopes. I deliberately followed a daily horoscope for 60 days and I can honestly say that maybe two or three days did it even pertain to my life or my day. And this was a fancy more articulate website where it asked not only for my birthday but also where I was born and where I live now.

Basic attributes of the Zodiac however, have thus far been spot on. Not only for the men I date, but also for the friends I have and how I perceive life itself.

Let me begin by saying I’m a Virgo. A very good one at that:

Analytical, critical, perfectionist, clean, planner, committed, bottles things up, likes to feel safe.

My first ex-boyfriend, a Pisces. My polar opposite.

Indeed it is true, opposites do attract. But over time they repel just as strongly.

His personality didn’t match at all with mine, for the Fish follow whichever way the tide sways them. Floating through life doesn’t sit well with a Virgo. We like to plan, to be in control, to have consistency in our thoughts and lives. All of which doesn’t seem to apply to Pisces. His opinions and views of life constantly changed, one day he was pro the next he was con. My critical views of his life were received with much strong emotion as they are generally very sensitive people. He would share everything, definitely was not a clean freak, had different ideas about commitment, and plans were just a guideline to his life.

Clearly, this combination was destructive. We loved and broke up destructively.

At the same time, my best friend in the world is an Aries, also a strong opposite of Virgos.

The difference lies, however, in the fact that friendships differ from relationships in the sense that there’s a grace period between how often you interact with your friends.

Aries are very outgoing, charge into things head on without thinking, love to explore and experience life. Virgos on the other hand are planners and proceed with caution. HOWEVER, given a grace period an Aries can bring a Virgo out of his shell. While the Virgo can guide the Aries through their emotions and actions more responsibly.

And since they’re friends if either has had enough for the day, they can walk away and interact again when both parties are ready. Through time my friend and I have made each other more well-rounded individuals. She’s brought me out of my shell and I given her more critical thinking skills with her own relationships.

Where incompatible signs go wrong in relationships is when there is no grace period. Emotions and interactions are much higher, to the point where one or both individuals feel suffocated by the other. Some signs and thus personalities, like in the case of Virgo and Pisces, are so different that they are constantly clashing on every aspect of life.

Be wary, however, that those born near the transition state between two signs can technically fall into one sign but more realistically be much closer personality wise to another. I think the breaking point for the signs are mere guidelines and there is much overlap as I have a dated a guy who was technically an Aquarius but with a birthday on February 16th he might as well have been a Pisces for he definitely acted and lived like one. Clearly, we didn’t pan out.

So do I take Zodiac signs into considerations when dating guys?

If it means deterring me from dating guys who are my polar opposites…You bet’ya! 

About thepersiancloset

Hey there! I'm a gay Iranian-American raised in the US, studying Dentistry and hoping to open up my own practice some day. Being brought up in a Persian household proved (and proves!) to be difficult when my very liberal gay self clashes with the more conservative members of the household. Follow me on a week to week journey of growing up Gay in the Persian closet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment